to the walters

i went to a museum
a lit god at the Walters art museum in Baltimore

a lit god at the Walters art museum in Baltimore

Oh goodness.

I love the Walters.

It is the best secret museum in the Mid-Atlantic,

though it’s not really secret

(just underrated).

There I find the curator (not worrier) in myself,

an artful being who will pose for off-kilter photographs like this:

ME!

while I enter the sculpture garden

The best part of the Walters in my eyes

is the inclusion of women

and persons of color

skylights, sky bright, first painting I see tonight...

skylights, sky bright, first painting I see tonight…

in each capsule, collection, and exhibit.

There’s always Shakespearean collection, and Othello pops up,

Ira Aldridge as Othello, by Mulready, ca. 1826

Ira Aldridge as Othello, by Mulready, ca. 1826 (this is from the Walters Web site, all other images my own)

Madonna and Child are represented in Iconic Russian, Ethiopian, Byzantine media…

SAINTLY SINNER REDEEMED

my buddy, Mary Magdalene, by Galli

it’s really beautiful.

Leave a Reply

