march

spring

Hello!

Apologies for the radio silence.

There is something about March that is so very dreary, yet the teachers’ solution is that one must pile papers onto students until they topple.

(…)

While taking a break from AP homework (three chapters in one weekend, oh yes!), I decided to blow eggs to dye. This is a precarious task, enlivened by the fact that I have an egg allergy.

(…x2)

Anywho, I blew the yolks right out of those eggs (sounds nasty, yes? Yes.)

And these were the results:

CONCEPT EGGS!!!

FullSizeRender (16)

Van Gogh’s “Starry Starry Night”

FullSizeRender (17)

“A Rose by Any Other Name”

FullSizeRender (18)

Monet’s “City Sunrise”

So yes, these are not truly “Finds”, but this is what happens when one is under the gun (which is spewing FRQs) and creativity is the best release. (Oh! And another official find {albeit virtual} is Cassey Ho’s Blogilates YouTube Pilates classes. Addictive!!)

How did I think up these lovely little eggs?

(Another good eggy find is The Talking Eggs, a picture book inspired by Haitian folklore {Krik? Anyone??} that my grandmother read over and over to me, and a book that I still read every time I am discouraged)

I thought of these eggs based on my, ah, obsession with Impressionist paintings. (GIVERNY! FIELD TRIP!!!)

1) Simply blue and yellow food dye, and salt.

Image Courtesy Wikipedia

Image Courtesy Wikipedia

2) Light coat of red dye, deeper green dye, and pink candle wax melted onto the eggshell (using a taper).

Image Courtesy Polyvore

Image Courtesy Polyvore

3) Soaked egg in red and yellow dye for about an hour, let dry, and painted with nail varnish (Essie, to be exact, but OPI and Sally Hansen work, too).

Image Courtesy Longwood University

Image Courtesy Longwood University

I am planning the Easter posts as we speak, but now I really need to get back to AP Euro…and maybe sleep.

-Carey

Leave a Reply

