a treasury of poems

books

BA Anthology of Poems

The Best Accessory?

Obviously, a book.

Whether it’s a novel, nonfiction narrative or an anthology, these are my favorite selections.

The latest addition to my classics library is a poem anthology I filched from my grandparents’ beach house.

(I do plan to give it back, for your information).

This collection is a blued leather-bound edition dating from 1949, back when I was maybe a puff of sea foam or possibly a hydrangea plant. (Because ashes to ashes, right?)

The book is pretty amazing, with lots of Romantic poetry from the U.S.A., England, Wales, Scotland, Germany and all of those other 19th century poem-powerhouses.

Among my favorites are “The Lady of Shallott” by Tennyson, “Lucy Gray” by Wordsworth, and Lowell’s “She Came and Went”.

This book is not for the reluctant readers…until they start reading.

Signing off,

Carey

Leave a Reply

